NEPA Metropolitan Planning Organization

Statistics and Background

The NEPA MPO region includes 123 municipalities, total land area of approximately 2,313 square miles and according to the 2010 Census a regional population of 440,749.  The NEPA MPO region includes 4,761 road miles and over 1,500 bridges.

Major east-west highway corridors within this region of the Commonwealth include I-80 and I-84. The north-south corridors include I-81, I-380, I-476, US 209, PA 309, and PA 61.

There are three primary public transit services in the MPO region, which include the Schuylkill Transportation System (STS) that services Schuylkill County, the Monroe County Transportation Authority (MCTA) that services Monroe County and the Carbon County Community Transit (CCCT) that services Carbon County.  They all provide fixed route and paratransit services within their county borders.  Pike County Transportation provides paratransit service in Pike County.

There are four public use airports in NEPA MPO region. The East Stroudsburg-Pocono Airport and the Pocono Mountains Municipal Airport are both located in Monroe County.  The Schuylkill County/Joe Zerbey Airport is located in Schuylkill County.  Jake Arner Memorial Airport is located in Carbon County.

Staff Contacts

Alan Baranski – Vice President, Transportation Planning Services Division
Kate McMahon – Senior Transportation Services Manager
Annette Ginocchetti – GIS Services Manager
Daniel Yelito – Transportation Services Manager

Connect with us through